Rachel’s Ranscombe

I had entered this in the week coming up to the event I needed to get some miles in and was missing the SVN crew and being as Ranscombe is 20 mins up the road it made sense.

The days before the event it became clear the weather was going to be challenging and I knew the route would be just as challenging infact according to my strava 2998ft elevation https://www.strava.com/activities/1368490159

I met up with Kay (fellow SLGR member) and bumped into a few friendly faces and had a catch up. Parking here is pants I decided to park down the road 5-10min walk. As soon as I arrived to collect my number I knew we were in for some fun (see above photo you can see the mud)

It was time for Traviss motivational speech and then we were off I stayed with Kay for the first lap it was crazy just slipping and sliding in the mud we got round it took about an hour but we didn’t fall. Kay decided to do the one lap her calf was playing up and it really wasn’t worth risking it on this terrain well done.

Lap 2 I done a quick Facebook live

It really was bad and once I started lap 3 I was even thinking of stopping it really took it out of me and running in most parts was getting harder and harder.

I decided to carry on and once I had done lap 4 there was no way I was stopping. I had hoped for an ultra but there was just no way I was eating loads (my peanut butter sandwiches didn’t even touch the sides) but I was lacking in energy so just stuck to the walk/run stay upright technique.

I think it was the end of lap 4 that I came into the aid station as the volunteers tucked into there McDonald’s wow it smelt amazing but I stuck to the rocky road and minstrels (they were epic) The course had spread out somewhat and some sections were quite lonely but I got my head down and cracked on.

The snow put in an appearance which wasn’t too bad but then it just rained and by the end I was cold wet and had literally had enough the last 3-4 miles were extremely tough and I nearly stacked it a few times.

I am glad I carried on and managed to finish marathon distance I collected my medal and was also awarded my little Saxon dude for completing 10 marathons with SVN I suspect I might be close to earning 25 soon will check later.

So marathon 41 done probably my slowest ever but I am looking at it as I got my money’s worth (no goodie bag photo it’s been demolished)

Results are in definitely my slowest ever but when 1st place for marathon distance was 4:39 it makes me feel a little better

http://www.saxon-shore.com/results/rachels_ranscombe_ramble.html

See here for some more SVN events that are coming up some local ones as well

http://www.saxon-shore.com/index.html

Leave a comment