20 Marathons in 20 Consecutive Days

Desire Determination Dedication

Tattoo I got a few years ago Desire Determination Dedication

This challenge would certainly need these three things even with a lot of training, due to covid we wasn’t sure if the event would go ahead and originally I had planned and got a number of events booked to complete my 100th marathon on day 20. Sadly that wasn’t to be and my training suffered as during the height of lockdown I didn’t feel comfortable going far. Traviss then announced it was going ahead albeit with some changes due to covid. SVN events put this on check them out here such great events

http://www.saxon-shore.com/index.html

I had already been out and done 10k and up to half and week before I entered one of Phoenix running events but only managed 20 miles which knocked me for six how on earth was this challenge going to pan out. Well I am pleased to say much better than expected and this experience has changed my life it’s been so uplifting and each day was for someone special some in memory and some to those who are just awesome the names on the back on the shirt (which I must let you know was washed daily ) are very special

Jon Ward Chris Rowlands grandad and my Nan were also added in the blanks

I got the shirt from personalise your vest, very easy to design your own design with the simple website cost was £25.10p which includes postage https://personaliseyourvest.co.uk

Before I go on to the daily updates which I done every evening so you would get a feel for where my brain was at never underestimate what the human body is capable of I set out to get to 11/12 marathons beating my 10 in 10 and then if needed was going to drop to half marathons but somehow once I got to the start line I got it done.

A big thank you to the following

Total sprint who I work for who believed in me and payed the entrance fee (I think they thought I was crazy and would get rid of me for three weeks as well as use up a chunk of holiday lol) http://www.totalsprint.co.uk

Sargeant partnership who sponsored me by getting me a pair of trainers and I ran partly for there charity Alzheimer’s society https://www.sargeantpartnership.com

McDonald’s greenhithe who sponsored me directly into my charity page and also supplied me with some food when I asked which was awesome

Crafty fox creations who supplied the finishers key rings and although I was originally paying for these they donated them for free as they knew how hard all the finishers had worked and that others were also doing charity work

https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/CraftyFoxByKirsty?ref=seller-platform-mcnav

TWIT

Flanci active wear who I am already an ambassador for who really believed in me supplied couple extra pairs of much needed shorts and also as a celebration gave me 15% code for everyone. My normal code for 10% is IAN (you can use this anytime) https://www.flanciactivewear.co.uk

The fire flanci shorts

Thank you to everyone that has sponsored current total with cash I need to pay from people is £1585.20p which I am stoked about I honestly didn’t expect to get to £1000 but I think after the radio interview strangers also donated and people I know runners and non runners could tell how hard it was to complete thank you all so much as charities have really suffered during covid and Kent and Sussex air ambulance and the Alzheimer’s society will be extremely great full as am I. You can still donate up till December if you have forgotten https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-display/showROFundraiserPage?userUrl=IanPullen20in20&pageUrl=4

Thank you to everyone that came along to support me I can’t mention by name simply too many people and I would not want to forget anyone but rest assured the support you gave me was amazing and really did help me. Some cheered on the cycle path some done a lap or two with me it was very humbling. Some even came along on odd days and took part and ran half marathons, marathons and ultras. Thank you all so much.

Also a big thank you to Paul and Alex who got me a fantastic card but also gave me a personal donation for me to spend on something for me which was nice thanks

My family have been amazing the support they have showed is incredible but one special lady my wife Louise needs a mention. Every day for 20 days she helped me and in some cases pushed me out the door when I wasn’t feeling it and had every confidence that I would somehow get around another marathon. She taped my blisters up daily done dinner went shopping the list is endless. I love you and can’t thank you enough for the support you show me on this challenges I have taken on the last few years and I know this one was even more of a test on our marriage. She even came and done a cool down lap with me the day after I finished.

Wifey

I now have my sights on 52 marathons in 52 weeks and being I have done 20 in 3 it seems the perfect chance to try and get this done as well as now being on 84 total marathons so getting near to the magic 100……

Here is the daily updates

20 in 20

Day 1

Each day is based at the cyclopark and today start was between 9-10am staggered keeping to social distancing. It was fantastic to see so many familiar faces, I set up my own aid station (no official aid station due to covid 19) I collected my number which is my name which I now keep for the duration and off I set approx 9:15am.

I got out for my first lap and who was standing across the road shouting come on dig deep the awesome Patrick one of our regular volunteers at parkrun it was so good to see him and he stuck around for about 3 Laps thanks Patrick. I also bumped into marathon and parkrun legend Les Pullen (no relation) we shouted hi and he waved me on, great to see you Mr Pullen.

The course is 8 laps for a marathon which is my aim. I didn’t want to set off too fast but also wanted to have a time cushion so I pushed on and done half in 2:30mins.

The laps ticked by and I put my music on and got in the zone thanks to Darren Harvey who downloaded his podcasts on the iPod you can find him on an app called twitch DJDarrenHarvey. I also shared some miles with Rob who is attempting 10 50k’s in 10 days he was trying to get me out to do a mini ultra so an extra mile loop but if I tried this every day that’s another 20 miles on the total and I know I am already pushing my fitness as it is. So I politely declined and stopped at 8 laps 6 hours. Happy with that and now to try and rest up for day 2. A massive thank you to Mrs H who chucked her lucky £5 at me to put in my charity pot. I am so lucky to know so many awesome people.

Patrick with Sarah and Evie

Day 2

The awesome Patrick returned this morning cheering us all on, my feet felt on fire today been advised low iron which I had already started taking tablets for but on way home picked up a couple of cans of Guinness went down a treat. Managed to get a blister today struggling a little with footwear and pair I have new I hadn’t managed to break them in much but I got it done and only about 7 mins slower than day 1. Thanks to Paul Commons who gave me some words of wisdom and got me running all way down back towards cyclopark and got me moving again :-). Back again tomorrow for day 3

This was the remains of boxes of plasters needed in the end to get me through

Day 3

Blister was ok till about lap 5 when it really started to hurt so I made sure I was in the cut off then really slowed it down. The SVN community is very much like parkrun community, a few people asked how I was one offered me blister plaster and another lady said she had given Traviss £15 if I do all 20 marathons it’s for my charity if not she gets it for her charity (no pressure then) she said the blanks on my tee shirt were bugging her. What an awesome thing to do. Lots of nods and smiles from the field in what was another warm day. Patrick made another appearance walking up to his daughters then Fleur joined me for couple laps and then as I came in from completing a lap I saw Richard, Joanne and Claire who had all done a half marathon and I hadn’t seen them. Gutted to not see them (staggered starts sadly means this can happen) but awesome to say hi. Now to try sort this blister ready for day 4

TWITS

Day 4

Blister was very painful in morning but Louise kicked me in the butt and made sure I got to the start to find it windy raining and I could of easily sat in car and not got out. I did and I got it done. Wife also joined me for last lap and done approx 2 miles and even jogged super proud and we went for lovely coffee at cyclopark afterwards. I am hoping she will do the same in few days it really helped. Great to see more familiar faces today from the marathon circuit

Day 5

Blister was like a big red bruise and Louise got up and helped me dress it and off I went. A nice surprise message from Karl and Jo night before they were all signed up and would come along and see how far they got. Once out we also saw Fleur who joined us for a lap the support has been amazing. Karl managed 6 laps so 20 odd miles and Jo pushed on for the marathon amazing efforts from both as neither of them have done much distance. Lots of other friendly faces on the course which really helps and was nice to see Craig slow up to help another lady who was struggling he is a sub 4:00 marathon runner (faster when he wants) but he stuck with her and got her to the finish. I have now noticed a small blister on my other foot omg what’s going on

Stats update taking from my garmin, 131 miles covered, 40 laps of the course, 80 🐇 bridge crossing (both ways) 248,818 steps and 25,173 calories burned

Day 6

Bit of a blur but Renee came along and done couple laps which was awesome and Chris also done lap and a bit the Louise came along with little two and gave out some ice lollies to a lot of great full runners

Renee

Day 7

A mixed day weather wise drenched one minute cold the next then over heating the next. Managed to share some miles with Rob Justine and Justin and then in evening shared a few pints with Craig Justin and the wife in The George no food as they had a leak but a burger at 10:30pm is fuel yes 🙂

With Rob at the cone of Doom

Day 8

Ben , Jo and Henry came out and supported today and I witnessed Colin complete his first Marathon well I say witness he finished before me but I got to run a little with him which was brilliant. I always love to see people achieve amazing things and it happens all the time at SVN. For me I felt good after couple laps and I knew at 4 1/2 hours I was about a mile ahead of where I had been and managed about 5:55 so nearly ten mins quicker than any other day. Maybe the 3 pints of Guinness helped last night. Enjoying this so far just trying to relax as much as possible in between as time between events seems to be getting shorter lol

The Awsome Sowdens with me and Riley

Day 9

A number of people came along today some running some doing a lap which is great it broke the day up. I struggled today after yesterday my legs at half way we’re gone it was a tough slog today but I got my head down and got it done. A few off road bikes on the grass part of the course was interesting and some cyclists seemed to be going a little too fast. Overall an enjoyable day but I am extremely tired and not had best of sleeps last couple of nights hopefully tonight will be better and I will feel more refreshed.

Day 10

A great day I think my best so far not only time wise my quickest but just the enjoyment of the day saw Sarah and Evie as well as Patrick , Alex and Paul. Being a bank holiday lots of usual suspects out on the course which also added to the atmosphere. John done his 100th marathon and many people became TITs (ten in ten) for the first time. Ruth got a photo of my on my favourite bridge and I have ordered dominos pizza life is good. Not going to lie nervous now as I am about to embark on the unknown never having done more than 10 marathons in 10 days but I am going to give it my best shot

The Bunny Bridge

Day 11

A bit of a come down as the field has shrunk some what with all the ten in ten people finished and I didn’t enjoy the first few laps nor did my legs they just didn’t want to play today. I caught up with Karen and stuck with her for our final two laps which was nice firstly she walks extremely fast which gave me kick up the butt and secondly was nice to chat about parkrun and all things running. It was quite a warm day in the end but another one done ✅

Karen in Purple

Day 12

Woke up a little late as sleeping is proving difficult legs keep twitching. Louise and Libby massaged my legs night before with a massage bar from lush which supposed to help with tired muscles. It seemed to work my legs felt great on starting today a few people commented on how strong I looked. 5 laps and I was doing well I am normally around 19 miles at 4:30 but today I was at 21 however the wheels fell off and I slowed down but it was mainly as I felt a blister on my little toe. I have also now got a blister in a blister both seem to have there own pulse. Little nervous about tomorrow but going to get some sleep tape them all up (well the wife will) and drag my butt to the start line

Both feet were being taped up

Day 13

I woke up and could feel the pain in my little toe I took pain killers straight away and had food and drink and started to get ready clueless on how I was going to get a marathon done. I got to the start and hobbled over and I do mean literally hobbled. Off I went and started first last which took 45 mins normally I am around 35 so I was already behind. My mind played tricks on me and I started to panic that in wouldn’t reach the cut off time. I done lap with David and the Fleur arrived which was a nice surprise and she got me caught back up with Karen who is speed walking due to her injury. I knew if I could keep up with Karen I would make the cut off and be ok which I did (thanks Karen) I am as I type this have my feet in ice cold water hoping it eases the pain slightly I just hope when I type this tomorrow evening it has worked and I have somehow got round another marathon. This is without a doubt the hardest thing I have ever done both mentally and physically much tougher than 100 miler and I never thought I would say that. (Update I managed my feet in 15 mins ice cold water

The odd ice bath helped

Day 14

As expected my toe was hurting and one of those days where I didn’t even see the point of going I could hardly walk down the stairs how on earth would I do 26.2 miles. Louise pushed me out the door taped up and held together and probably laughed as I hobbled down the front path. I got to the start some how got moving and managed to do a strange run / shuffle which got me comfortably in the cut off and to a sub 6 hour time I not sure how and my shin is feeling it where I had a strange style but I got it done and looking forward to day 15 and a radio Kent interview as well as people popping along and a slightly bigger field being the weekend

Day 15

A struggle to get to the start but I did and so glad Lindsey done a half marathon lots of B2R came out to support and Ben done 3 laps Sarah Karl and Caitlin done a lap. The support was amazing I even done a radio interview with radio Kent for hero of the week https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p08pp7n1?fbclid=IwAR1SvNKS8cOxyqlBwwNb-QzXe5OGi8N9xvWpadfqr1k29U0BmehhhyxC92U

I had an awesome day today albeit slow I got it done and feel sore but day 15 done and for Rory Sowden which meant a lot let’s hope tomorrow I am not as sore

Lindsey behind me Sarah next to me and Ben pushes us on behind us
Some of the B2R

Day 16

managed to go a bit quicker today foot is sore but manageable today, thanks to Clare Driscoll and Benjamin Edward Sowden who done a lap and to Sarah Poynter who done a lap and then went on and smashed out a impressive half marathon also saw many others on the course thanks all – close to £1000 in sponsorship now as well which is great. Early night tonight much needed

Fi fellow flanci ambassador done my last lap of the day

Day 17

Foot is going to be sore for the duration I just have to suck it up and take tablets and get it down albeit slower than I know I could go. I tend to run most of 4-5 laps then have to run/walk to ease the pain the best I can. Still managed a sub 6 pretty much thanks to David Brett who done a couple of laps with me and kept me running. A nice scotch egg off Paul at the end and felt good. The routine is to get home Epsom bath salts and relax as much as possible resting feet ready for the following day

Day 18

A real struggle today changed my shoes 3 times and blisters just keep being painful nothing I can do but grin and bear it. Dave Reid came along today shared two slow laps with me and I just couldn’t get going. Thankfully another friend arrived and kept me upright and moving and I made sure Dave set off on his quest to 50k and so pleased that he smashed it even with the two slow laps with me. He then came and done my last lap which I really appreciated so good of him. Today has helped me remember how awesome running community is and how lucky I am to have great friends. Now to suck it up get some rest and get back for day 19

Day 19

Never underestimate the body and what your mind and body is capable of. I felt battered when I woke up but Louise taped me together and off I went. Slight issue on course a body was found in bushes not sure circumstances all a bit sad but it didn’t stop play and I got round first couple laps in around 1:10 I then spent time with Andrew who really got me moving and knows a lot of tricks (not tricks but experience so I listened and get up ) he helped me get done in 5:43 matching my quickest at day 10 now I have a lot of miles in my legs so to say I am pleased is an understatement bring on day 20

Day 20

The big day had arrived and although I was battered and my left foot just looked like a giant plaster I was getting this done there was no way I wasn’t finishing this. I set off and managed a fairly quick couple of laps infact my first was I think my quickest over the entire 20 days the adrenaline was pumping and done my 2nd and managed half in 2:45 I started to slow a bit I think the body started to shut down. Craig practically chucked a tenner in my hand for the charity which was great and sums up the support between the runners and even Tom blasted out proclaimers walk 500 miles as he went past. A few friends came out on last lap and Louise was there with little two as well as my boss and his wife. The finish was amazing I held it together but I don’t mind admitting Sarah messaged me in the morning and said good luck and to think of all the names on the shirt and all money you have raised and I did have some tears in my eyes as well as on lap 7 it just starts to dawn on you what you have achieved and how special it is a real once in a lifetime experience. 20 marathons in 20 days completed it mate 😉

The final lap

Finished

Total Stats

524 miles, 160 laps of the course with 320 bunny bridge crossings. 988,573 steps 90,355 calories burned which is the same as 1505 babybel, 602 Creme eggs, 398 pints of stella or 951 freddo bars. Weight lost approx 9lb

Leave a comment