Viking 100 Mile Endurance Run

After completing 10 marathons in 10 days finishing early December 2017 I had always knew I would need to have another challenge to look forward to. I had looked at the 100 miler and decided it was a big step and and couldn’t really afford it. I decided to go with the Fowlmead 50 mile event in April 2018. It seemed the natural next step. So how did I come to do 100 miles in the end I hear you ask well a little while after the ten in ten and after I booked the 50, I got a pleasant message from Theresa Massey she had decided to pass her place onto me. I couldn’t (well still can’t) believe she done this it was such a nice thing to do and she believed that I could do it (no pressure then 😂) I spoke to Louise (the Wife) before saying yes and she agreed I should give it a go. I messaged Theresa back and the the next thing I knew I was an entrant to a 100 mile endurance run. Having done ten in ten it was a good base to start with but still 100 miles is a long way and in fact only today someone at worked joked that they get tired driving 100 miles let alone running. I knew I would need to do some back to back runs etc but still hadn’t a clue where to start. A few messages to Traviss and a look at his website.

http://traviss.co.uk/wisdom/100_mile_tips_introduction.html

I found some great advice here and even just now I have noticed a section on taping up feet (wish I read that one).

I hadn’t taped my feet and wish I had above photo is during 20in20 but taping can help prevent blisters

The training I had managed was ok but not great a few ultra distances and few double marathons and a few double training runs and a few just single long day runs. Ideally I would of done a lot more but various things didn’t allow it. Then we had the snow and work got busier and it wasn’t possible to run on a lot of pathways so I ended up not running for couple of weeks before the event which wasn’t great and made me quite nervous.

So with that all said coming into race week I knew of one or two things, number one I couldn’t do anymore training wise than I had done it was pointless cramming in extra miles here and there what was done was done I may as well rest and number two I could control getting my stuff packed ready earlier and carb loading. So I made sure I packed my stuff ready by weds this was good for me as the ten in ten I didn’t pack till late Thursday night before the events started on the Friday silly mistake and highly stressful so at least I was packed and good to go for this one and needed the entire boot of louise’s car for this lot

Food wise I learnt a lot but I took more than I would need but it was nice knowing I had a good selection and more than enough to last especially as the SVN events are always well stocked anyway. I took things like pot noodles, custard, chocolate, red bull , porridge, pancakes, and these drinks called Ensure which Traviss had mentioned these were great as are like a meal in a shake 300 odd calories in these and chocolate one tastes quite nice.

Race day

Well I say race but for me this would not be a race well only against the clock to make sure I got this done in the 32 hour cut off I didn’t want to get to 96 miles and not finish in time giving myself a DNF. I had the option to drop down to the 24hr challenge event as long as I done so by 8am Sunday morning. We set off at 6am to arrive for 7am giving me an hour to set up collect my number and chill out a bit before the start. Louise dropped me off there was no way I could drive afterwards so she kindly dropped me off came back Saturday evening then back again Sunday to collect me.

All the runners set up in the barn it was great to know all kit and food etc would be dry (one less thing to worry about) it was dark in here but we noticed some lights over head and these came on in the evening so it made a great base point.

I was getting nervous and I knew once I got to 40 miles I was in complete unknown territory would I cope physically and mentally oh well I guess I was about to find out, the Bell was rung and it was time for the race brief then we stood there for couple of minutes waiting for 8am when the 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1 came and boom this was it a 100 miles to go

And we’re off

Louise and the little ones waved me off and they then drove round and waited around the corner to see me go off in the distance. Being as I didn’t want to go off too quick I started nearly at the back and my legs felt ok but then for few miles felt heavy which was a worry but after a few more miles they settled in. I decided to walk the hills from early on it was pointless using so much energy running up hills that after a few laps would feel even worse. Talking of laps this would be 16 laps of 6.25 loops so from early on I thought I would try and just count laps and not focus on the miles as this was mind blowing. It became apparent early on that a section was very muddy and I quickly realised that this would get worse with the amount of people going across it especially as we had other challenges starting after us the 6 hour and 24 hours

However this part was at the end of the loop and then turn around and go back so then near the start of next loop and overall only about 5% of each loop. I brought trials but decided to keep with my Hoka as my trails haven’t got any cushioning really and bear in mind rest of loop was concrete or firm trail it would make more sense to just crawl across the mud rather than risk battering my feet on trail trainers.

I hadn’t managed to get to the moonlight challenge a few weeks earlier which in some ways I was glad of at least the course would be new but then maybe it would of been an advantage to see the course who knows.

The loop went from the barn across the mud and then off near the Thanet way and through a farm where the brewery was which I must admit if it had been open during the day I would of definitely stopped for a swift half at least. However when I went past it during the later stages there was no way I could of stomached an ale

At approx just under half way of the loop there was a magnificent sight one every runner dreams of Jelly baby station. These guys were awesome not only keeping us supplied with coke,water jelly babies but also bacon and sausage rolls at one point and endless well dones which made a huge difference thank you :-).

I saw Kelly at jelly baby station and had a quick chat and a selfie. I had also shared a few miles with Ross on course who was doing 24 hour challenge.

Sharing something funny with Somei (MCL)

I made half way in around 13 hours once I got this far I knew I had to get this done.

The night section was always going to be tough and I realised I hadn’t up till this point listened to any music which was kind of liberating and it was nice to keep to my thoughts and clear the mind. I had been thinking of my Mum being it was coming into Sunday which was Mother’s Day and I really felt she was looking over me during the night. Louise arrived before the night section with some new socks and she helped me get changed I wouldn’t of been able to do it alone. I had a chat some food and felt so much better that she had taped my toes and got me in fresh clothes it set me up well for the night and I found my pace increase and more running was being done. I leaned Big lessons about my feet for 100 miles taping them up from the off is definitely the way to go I suffered with blisters which with the rain and mud was a given.

Now the mud was getting very bad it was hard to plot a route through it in the dark and at one point I was going up Hill literally sliding backwards and I was swearing out loud and was getting to point of having enough. It was at this point in the shadows by the gate I noticed some friendly faces and it was Karen who uttered the words don’t worry mate this is the last time your going via the mud the course has been changed wow what a relief although this did mean each lap was shorter so after 16 laps I had to go out and do another 4 ish miles I didn’t care at least we didn’t have to slip and slide which was actually hurting and I pulled my groin at one point.

I still didn’t listen to music just carried on with my own thoughts and I spent quite a lot of time alone during the night which I didn’t mind too much. Lee Edwards had come down the day before and was coming back in the morning it was great to share some miles and have a catch up. Hilary also came down and we shared some miles. I had got to about 80 miles and so far felt ok I mean I was hurting but I was still moving and running although a lot less.

The last 20 miles were to be all about mental strength it was a case of one foot in front of the other and get it done it wasn’t pretty and when I got to 15 miles to go it was a death march I couldn’t run another step and had to try and power walk the best I could.

The barn where more and more people were finishing.

I got to the barn and had one full lap and my little lap to do when Rachel saw me and said Ian you have so got this I am so confident you have got this I am getting your tee shirt and buckle ready for you. I had a great smile but then realised I still had about 9 miles to do. Louise arrived and saw me in the final loop but I was now really struggling the thought of going out and doing 4 more miles was making me want to quit but I had come so far I was getting this done. I shouted at Louise to get me a coffee I needed sugar and something warm my food had declined the last few miles which I again learned massive things. She ran ahead but couldn’t find my cup I couldn’t stop if I did I really think I would of collapsed I shouted at her I CANT STOP please catch me up. I got my card punched turned around and marched out even managing a gentle shuffle in no way a run but it was a close as I could manage. A lady volunteer had grabbed the coffee off Louise and ran and caught me up the hill and passed me the coffee wow I enjoyed that coffee thank you so much to the lady (whom I tracked down and thanked).

So this was it 4 ish miles and the slowest and longest miles of my life I was exhausted I got to the turn round point and slowly made my way to the finish. I phoned ahead to Louise she met me at the Hill and had to hold me up I was done in. We marched to the finish and I had done it I felt very emotional and very tired. Riley I think it was rang the bell and I was a 100 mile finisher 28:50:48 I was bursting inside and Rachel gave me a big hug and presented me my awesome finishers shirt

And Traviss shook my hand and presented me with my first 100 mile finisher buckle which is just as awesome

Louise helped me to the car and I just sat back and closed my eyes and snoozed for half hour on way back. Getting out the car and in the bath I couldn’t of done alone Louise had to help me I then had food and went to bed, I thought I would sleep well but was tossing and turning and was awake at 5am which happened for a few days infact I went back to work on the Tuesday and came over very weird and had to go home early I couldn’t think straight and felt so tired. Luckily my bosses were understanding and I went home had couple hours snooze after more food and felt much better. My blisters have calmed down and as I type this a week later I am walking normal and feel fine. This was an amazing experience and I want to thank Theresa for making it possible and my wife Louise for looking after me and supporting me in these crazy events SVN and helpers for putting on these awesome events and my fellow runners we all supported each other I couldn’t of done it without everyone’s support.

First Finisher was The amazing Robert Treadwell in an incredible 17:37:07

89 people started the 100 miles 53 finished which a 59% finish rate is lower than normal which I am sure was down to the conditions.

Full results can be found here http://www.saxon-shore.com/results/viking_100.html

Now I have the next challenge of the original 50 miler I signed up for 🙂

Powered by SOS Rehydration

https://www.strava.com/activities/1447788104

Leave a comment